Do You Remember?

“Daddy, I remember choosing you and mama as my parents before I was born!”

I perked up at the dinner table. “Oh really, baby? Tell me all about it.”

Alysha looked up, frowning, “Daddy, daddy…”

“Yes, Leesha?”

“…mmmm, I have something to tell you…”

Zora cut her off, “It was before I was born, and I was with G-d,” she said solemnly, her face animated with excitement. I listened intently as she spoke.

“There was a bright yellow light and I was there and I was talking to G-d and I was wondering who my parents were going to be.”

Noah threw half of his hamburger at me, hitting me on the side of the head then dropping to the table. Barely paying attention, I picked it up and started eating it, absently. Zora was gesticulating wildly, her arms moving fast, her eyes bright as she looked at me, speaking fast.

“G-d showed me pictures of you and mama when you were babies, then when you were teenagers! And then he showed me pictures of you when you were grown!”

Alysha kept trying to interrupt. “Daddy…”

“Yes, Leesha?” I looked at her, trying to bring her into the conversation. “Do you remember before you were born too, baby?”

She nodded miserably and put her head down on the table.

“Pick your head up baby and eat your food.” She sat up and picked at her fries and burger, face downcast.

Zora, impatient to continue, did  so. “Daddy, so then, I curled up into a tiny, tiny ball and G-d put me inside of a peanut!”

I laughed and looked at her with a funny expression on my face. “A peanut? C’mon, ZZ, you gotta be kidding me.”

“Nope!” She insisted, then drew her hand back like a pitcher on the mound, “A peanut! And then G-d threeeeew me through space, into mama’s tummy!”  She laughed and bounced as she remembered, “A peanut, daddy! And He threw me into mama’s tummy!”

“Wow, sounds like a fun trip, Zo-zo.”

I reached over and tusseled Alysha’s head and winked at her as Noah poured his water into his plate, making cheeseburger, ketchup and french fry soup.

“What do you think about all that, Leesh-leesh?”

She looked at me with her puppy dog eyes and said, “I don’t remember that, Daddy.”

I asked her, “What do you remember, baby? Do you remember what happened yesterday?”

She shook her head no.

“Do you remember what happened at school today?”

She shook her head no again.

“Do you remember what happened a few minutes ago?”

She shook her head no one more time, a small smile breaking across her face.

“Do you remember, me TICKLING YOU?! Gaaaaaah!”

I reached over and tickled her causing her to scream in laughter. Noah laughed sympathetically and threw his cup at my head. I was glad it was empty.

Leave a Reply

